Ophiuchus: the 13th astrological sign

What if the zodiac sign assigned to you when you were born was wrong? Relying on new zodiac maps taken a few years ago by NASA, the area of ​​the sky which makes it possible to establish the famous signs of the zodiac, a minority fringe of astrologers has defined a new sign called Ophiuchus (Serpent Bearer). The Serpent Bearer is rarely found in books of classical mythology. And for good reason: the Western zodiac has contained only twelve signs since the dawn of time. Ophiuchus It was only very recently, in 2016, that NASA, the American Space Agency, questioned this classification, discovering a thirteenth constellation, Ophiuchus, therefore, whose name comes from a Greek word meaning the Serpent Bearer. This is why the celestial atlases represent the character of Ophiuchus carrying in his hands the constellation of the Serpent, which, passing behind him, is cut in two. On one side appears the tail, on the other the head. It is to the myth of the healing god Asclepius (Aesculapius) that Ophiuchus must be linked. However, the traditional rivalry between astronomers and astrologers – which does not date from yesterday – means that the Ophiuchus remains rejected by the majority of astrologers. Because while they both study the position of the stars, astronomers rely on demonstrations while astrologers work on guesswork. That is why, for almost all astrologers, the Ophiuchus theory does not hold water.

Ophiuchus, A sign of fire

There are still a handful of others, these astrologers who, like rebels, have questioned dogma, being determined to consider the Ophiuchus. According to them, people born under the sign of Ophiuchus, linked to the element of Fire, would thus demonstrate great wisdom. Those born under the sign of Ophiuchus would also seek harmony in their relationships with others but tend to be possessive. Astrologers also claim that people with this sign shine with their aesthetic sense and are continually in search of a peaceful life. People born under this sign would finally have a very important capacity for thinking. Characteristics quite close, finally, to those of the natives of Scorpio and Sagittarius, which are also signs of Fire.

Ophiuchus, Between November 29 and December 17

With the arrival of Ophiuchus in the zodiac, the order of the astrological signs was logically completely upset. Considering that the zodiac is no longer divided into twelve, but into thirteen parts, here is, below, what could be the (correct?) List:
  • People born between January 20 and February 15: Capricorn.
  • Between February 16 and March 10: Aquarius.
  • Between March 11 and April 17: Pisces.
  • Between April 18 and May 12: Aries
  • Between May 13 and June 20: Taurus.
  • Between June 21 and July 19: Gemini.
  • Between July 20 and August 9: Cancer.
  • Between August 10 and September 15: Leo.
  • Between September 16 and October 29: Virgo.
  • Between October 30 and November 22: Libra.
  • Between November 23 and November 28: Scorpio.
  • Between November 29 and December 17: Ophiuchus.
  • Between December 18 and January 19: Sagittarius.
  • For the vast majority of astrologers, this order is not valid since, for them, Ophiuchus does not influence the zodiac.

Should we consider that they are in error? That the astronomical discoveries, which are linked together at a dazzling pace, will not ultimately prove them wrong? Are we going to witness, in the coming decades, a complete overhaul of astrology? The debate remains open and could well rage in the future …


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.